English Heritage has unveiled the results of a £1.2 million conservation project at Framlingham Castle, where Mary Tudor was proclaimed Queen of England in 1553.
The transformation has made the Suffolk-based castle what English Heritage describes as ‘a versatile all-weather destination for group days out’.
A new 40-seat café and retail space have been added to the 17th-century workhouse which stands within the castle walls.
Additionally, an original mezzanine level has been reinstated to house a new exhibition that tells the stories of the historic property and its former residents.
Highlights of the exhibition include an introductory film and a walkthrough of the castle’s varied owners, from the famous Howard family to Mary Tudor. There is a lift from the ground floor to the exhibition.
Conservation work to the curtain walls using a mixture of heritage skills such as lime slaking, repointing and stone carving has also been completed as part of the project.
The future of Framlingham
English Heritage now plans to fundraise for a second phase of work to create a 360? wall walk with a lift providing easy access to a newly-built balcony area for everyone to enjoy the views across the mere.
Groups of 11 or more people receive a 15% discount at English Heritage properties and events. One tour leader and one coach driver are admitted free with each group (and do not count towards group numbers). Free familiarisation visits can be arranged, too.
Framlingham Castle is open daily until the end of October and at weekends until 29th March 2018. Pre-booked coach parking is available.
For more information or to pre-book group visits go to www.english-heritage.org.uk/framlingham.