National Theatre

The National Theatre in London has revealed its show line-up for the April to November season, which will boast 12 new shows including Jane Eyre.

The programme will include OSLO, a new play by J.T. Rogers, opening on 5th September for a limited run, and Common by DC Moore, which will open on 30th May. This show tells the story of unsavoury action and England’s lost land.

Jane Eyre, based on the novel by Charlotte Bronte, will run for a limited time from 26th September as part of its 2017 UK tour. 

Other shows will include Salome, a play by Yaël Farber which follows the story of a girl who’s dancing changes the course of the world. This will open on 2nd May.

Twelfth Night, by William Shakespeare is also included in the line-up and will conclude on 13th May.

Other new shows that will be included in the National Theatre season will be Saint George and the Dragon, Network, Beginning, John, Pinocchio, Mosquitos, Consent, Barbershop Chronicles, My Country; a work in progress, and Lost Without Words.

Theatre at the cinema 

The 2017 season will also include cinema viewings as part of the National Theatre Live programme which brings theatre to cinemas. 

Shows that will be shown in cinemas include Obsession, by Luchino Visconti, Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf, by Edward Albee, Peter Pan, by Sally Cookson, Angels in America by Marieann Elliot, Yerma by Simon Stone, and Salome, the new play by Yaël Farber.

National Theatre: UK tours

The National Theatre will also tour 49 venues in 37 towns and cities across the UK during 2017 and 2018. Shows that are set to tour include People, Places and Things by Duncan Macmillan, and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, adapted by Simon Stephens.

In addition, the National Theatre’s outdoor festival returns between 28th July and 28th August, with free live music, guest DJs and dance and theatre performances.

For more information, visit