Arthur Hunt GTO of the Year 2015

The annual search for the Group Travel Organiser of the Year has begun with an increased first prize of £2,000 to use on a familiarisation holiday of the winner’s choice.

Nominations are being taken via the Group Leisure website at

Those eligible to vote include travel trade suppliers, group members can nominate their GTO, GTOs can nominate other organisers, or group organisers can put themselves forward. 

The award recognises the best group travel organisers in the country and throughout its history has shined a spotlight on people who make a positive contribution to local communities, work colleagues, friends and family.

Judges of the award will be looking for GTOs who go the extra mile in their organising and show inventiveness and dedication to their role.

The winner will be announced at the Group Leisure Awards ceremony and dinner, which will take place on Wednesday 19th October at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole.

The launch of the awards comes just weeks after it was revealed that Anton Du Beke and Erin Boag of Strictly Come Dancing fame will be performing and and co-hosting the awards.

The news has gone down a storm and tickets to the ceremony are expected to sell fast.

Last year’s winner

Arthur Hunt from Peterborough U3A won the title of Group Travel Organiser of the Year 2015.

He has chosen to spend his prize money on a familiarisation cruise on the Danube, which he will take this summer.

To make a nomination for GTO of the year visit

To get tickets to the awards dinner or to secure a table go to