Tower Bridge

London’s Tower Bridge Exhibition will be unveiling a permanent Walk of Fame installation and refreshed look for its Engine Rooms on 24th April.

The new installations will share the human history of the bridge.

Commemorating and celebrating the lives of Tower Bridge workers, the Walk of Fame will comprise of 40 decorative plaques alongside 40 other plaques naming some of the workers from the bridge’s 122 year history, each selected to illustrate the diversity of roles behind the bridge.

Visitors will be able to ‘meet’ the cook Hannah Griggs, who joined Tower Bridge as the first female worker in 1911 alongside the first bridge master, Bertie Angelo Cator, plus many more.

The plaques are laid into the south east pavement, connecting the South Tower and Engine Rooms both physically and visually.

The installation will create what’s described as a more streamlined journey for visitors exploring the distinct exhibition elements, and will drive footfall to the newly refurbished gift shop and Engine Rooms.

Future plans

The Walk of Fame installation and refreshed Engine Rooms is part of a wider three year plan to develop Tower Bridge Exhibition’s interpretation with a renewed focus on the social history of the bridge.

From commissioning new research into the collections at London Metropolitan Archives and Glasgow City Archives to collecting oral histories, Tower Bridge Exhibition reportedly aims to compile and share with its visitors a fascinating record of lost knowledge.

The Engine Rooms’ new interpretation will enable visitors to find out about the ordinary people who designed, built, and operated one of London’s most famous landmarks.

Group bookings

If you would like to make a group booking for ten or more people, contact the booking team on 020-74079191 or email

For further information visit