The Commitments

West End musical The Commitments is to begin a UK tour this October, beginning at the Churchill Theatre, in Bromley.

Thirty years since the novel from which the musical is based on was written by author Roddy Doyle, The Commitments will embark on a seven month tour.

Opening at Churchill Theatre in Bromley on 3rd October, the musical will then travel to the Bord Gais Theatre in Dublin before touring theatres across the UK until May 2017.

Venues include Milton Keynes Theatre from 31st October to 5th November, the Lyceum Theatre in Sheffield from 21st to 26th November, the Theatre Royal in Glasgow from 11th to 30th December and the Palace Theatre in Manchester from 27th March to 7th April 2017.

The UK tour will close at the Alhambra Theatre in Bradford following a week long performance until 13th May 2017.

It follows a critically acclaimed appearance in the West End, which ran from September 2013 until November 2015.


The Commitments tells the story of Jimmy Rabbitte, a young working class music fan, who turns an unlikely group of amateur musicians into the finest soul band Dublin has ever produced.

However, just as the band begins to improve and make a name for itself, the group combusts. The backing singers are all emotionally attached with the middle-aged horn-playing legend, the singer has entered Eurovision, the drummer has walked out mid-gig and the saxophone player has dangerous leanings towards a jazz career.

The musical includes over 20 soul songs, such as Night Train, Try A Little Tenderness, River Deep, Mountain High, Papa Was A Rolling Stone, and I Heard It Through The Grapevine.

You can watch the official trailer for The Commitments UK tour here:


The UK tour will star former Coronation Street actor Kevin Kennedy who will play Jimmy’s Da, as well as cast members from the show’s run on the West End at London’s Palace Theatre, including Brian Gilligan, who will reprise his role as Deco, and Andrew Linnie, who will star as Jimmy Rabbitte.

For more information visit

Photo credit: Johan Persson.